Testimonials


Testimonials

Renee Weigand


My father passed over 2 weeks ago, at that time Sunset Point Funeral home was highly recommended to my family. Andrew met with us and put us at ease immediately with his sincerity and professionalism. The prices were very affordable as well. Thank you Andrew and staff!

Renee Weigand
August 27, 2018

My father passed over 2 weeks ago, at that time Sunset Point Funeral home was highly recommended to my family. Andrew met with us and put us at ease immediately with his sincerity and professionalism. The prices were very affordable as well. Thank you Andrew and staff!

Like

Renee Weigand
July 20, 2018


7/10/2018
Sunset Point Funeral Home and Mr. Andrew Winterkorn were wonderful in helping us deal with the passing of a family member. We are located in California and they were nothing but professional, Kind and HONEST... We were concerned that we would need to fly back.. (had just returned home) but they were able to handle all aspects of the cremation and transporting of the remains to us via internet and doc u sign. Writing a review of a funeral home may seem off, but it was important that others know the level of care and professionalism that Mr. Winterkorn and his whole staff provided.

Kendall H.
July 10, 2018

Andrew was a God-send. He worked so wondrously the logistics of getting my mother-in-law ready for showing at his funeral home, then having her shipped to Rochester, NY for her burial. No one could have done it any better. The funeral home was ideal for our family. My wife and I received nothing but exceptional comments about this place.

Ray Borelliere
July 10, 2018

I recently lost my mother and Andrew's team took great care of us in our time of need. They never tried to upsell us and they were quick to react to any requests. I would recommend Sunset Point Funeral Homes to anyone in need of their services.

Tad Graham
June 7, 2018

ploplisphilin
2 reviews

a day ago-
After 5 weeks of suffering in the hospital, my Downs Syndrome brother passed away. I felt the doctors abandoned him, but the nursing staff and respiratory technicians were angels. My family was exhausted physically, mentally, and emotionally. With a Google search, my brother located Sunset Point Funeral Home as highly rated, especially since my brother's body had to be transported back to Chicago for burial. I cannot express in words how Mr. Winterkorn acted like a guardian archangel to us. He relieved us of so much worry with his meticulous attention to detail and sensitive personality. His coordination with the funeral director in Chicago was perfect, and my brother arrived in beautiful condition. God bless him!

William Ploplis
May 22, 2018

My husband and I wanted to do our prearrangements. We researched 4 funeral homes in the area. We were shocked & disturbed by the “mark ups” & “selling techniques” used by the other funeral homes. As soon as we walked into Sunset Funeral home, we knew it was the “right” place & felt peace. The funeral director, Andrew Winterkorn was a blessing & joy to work with. He was “honest”, caring, professional, and went over & beyond! We can’t say enough good things, about this funeral home, and highly recommend them. James & Deborah Donnelly

James & Deborah Donnelly
May 21, 2018

I read the testimonials from other parents and knew this would be the right place to have our son cremated. Our son died in south Florida and we live in California. From day one, Andrew handled our loss with the utmost care and compassion. He had all the answers to all the questions we had. When we arrived in Florida and met with Andrew, he was very accommodating and very sympathetic of our loss. We needed to have our son's remains the following day to drive over 100 miles north of Tampa. We were on a very tight time frame. Sunset Point came through without a glitch. From our family to yours, if you are reading this, rest assured Sunset Point will take care of you during your time of need. We thank you Andrew and Sunset Point.

Bob & Ruthie Swanson
May 13, 2018

Thank you for helping our family in such a difficult time. Your kind spirit helped make it a little easier. Thank you.

Gary, Tad, Dana, and Families

Denise Graham Zahn Family
May 7, 2018

Our family has partnered with Sunset Point Funeral Home twice now on recent deaths in our family, The latest was our father a veteran who died after years of suffering and in the end was living in a long term care facility. It was hard to believe that Andrew's team could surpass the quality of service we experienced with our first engagement. The increased level of personal attention, compassion, tolerance and understanding we experienced was over whelming. My father was a veteran and Andrew and his staff helped us so much by facilitating the processes that would have frustrated us given the circumstances. My father left the long term care facility dressed in a American flag with taps being played. We couldn't of planned his transition any better. All personnel we came in contact with exhibited the same level of humbleness and respect towards us and our deceased beloved father. Just can't praise enough the level of support we got from these people. Thanks to them all

Chris Moritz
May 1, 2018


We so appreciated the compassionate and excellent services that Andrew and Sunset Point provided.
As many Of the details were arranged from across the country, his knowledge and assistance were such a help. Thank you.

Pat Bradley
April 24, 2018

The level of personal attention, compassion, tolerance and understanding we experienced from Mr. Andrew Winterkorn, owner of the facility was beyond any expectation. My father was a veteran and Mr. Winterkorn helped us so much and facilitated processes that would have frustrated us given the circumstances. All personnel we came in contact with exhibited the same level of humbleness and respect towards us and our deceased beloved father. Just can't praise enough the level of support we got from these people. Thanks to them all.

Rhodell Fields
April 24, 2018

We would like to thank Andrew Winterkorn and his staff at Sunset Point Funeral Home for helping us through a difficult time, after the death of our family member. From the moment we contacted Andrew to the final arrangements he made on our behalf, we felt that he truly cared about our situation. We appreciated his attention to detail, his calm and reassuring manner, and his desire to make sure that we were fully aware of all our available options. Although it is not easy to make funeral arrangements for a loved one, we are satisfied with the service that Sunset Point Funeral Home provided and would highly recommend them to others.

Libby Aguigui Nau
February 5, 2018

I'd like to thank you for showing such compassionate consideration as you
handled the care of my brother's (Donald Nau) remains. The dignified and
professional manner you demonstrated during the removal of his body from his home while family looked on was quite telling. It was very helpful and reassuring that we selected the right funeral home and crematorium to serve us during this very difficult time. Thank you and God bless you. Sincerely, Rev Michael S Nau, Sr (Brother of Donald Nau) And on behalf of Donald's Family - Libby, Connor, Kennedy, and Tanner Nau

Rev Michael S Nau, Sr
February 1, 2018

I can't thank you enough Andrew for your kindness during such a difficult time. People like you do not go unseen. You truly touched the lives of my family.
Many well wishes, Sandy.

Sandy
January 18, 2018

Rev Michael S Nau, Sr. I'd like to thank you for showing such compassionate consideration as you handled the care of my brother's (Donald Nau) remains. The dignified and professional manner you demonstrated during the removal of his body from his home while family looked on was quite telling. It was very helpful and reassuring that we selected the right funeral home and crematorium to serve us during this very difficult time. Thank you and God bless you. Sincerely, Rev Michael S Nau, Sr (Brother of Donald Nau) And on behalf of Donald's Family - Libby, Connor, Kennedy, and Tanner Nau.

Rev Michael S Nau, Sr.
January 14, 2018

Dear Andrew,
On behalf of me and my entire family, I want to thank you for your patience and guidance during this very stressful time in our lives. You made everything proceed much more smoothly. Thanks again to you and your staff.

Robert Walker
January 2, 2018

Mom was fighting for 6 months her battle with cancer and we suddenly lost her when she had a major stroke. My brother and I did not know who to turn to for her final arraignments. We did know that she was going to be in the same plot with dad in Bushnell but we did not have the rest planned out. So while we were eating lunch, I took out my phone and did a google search for funeral homes. Sunset Point Funeral Home came up along with a couple others. I went onto the web site and found out that it was locally family owned. This was something that was important with mom, she loved to go to mom and pop places instead of big corporations. I told my brother and we read some of the reviews. We decided to go to Sunset Point right after we finished lunch. When we arrived, we were met by Andrew and his assistant. They express their condolences about the our loss of our mother. They went over the options. We chose what mom would want. They were very helpful from the moment that we walked in to the place for just prices to the following day when I went back and told Andrew that we chose Sunset Point. Andrew kept in contact with me through out the process from the time they picked mom up to when her ashes were ready to be picked up. He also helped with the arrangements at Bushnell. He even emailed me a couple of days before Thanksgiving to let me know that mom's death certificates were ready to be picked up.

I would not have any problems recommending Sunset Point for their services for a love ones. Do not hesitate and call Sunset Point even to make your final arraignments and prepay them so the burden is not left for you family to handle or pay.

Thank you Andrew for your help with mom's final arrangements.

Kasie Ivory
December 4, 2017

There are no words to say in regards to the impeccable treatment we received from Andrew and his staff during this difficult and unexpected time. I called several places and all were unfortunately rude and disregarding to the loss of my brother. Andrew was not only kind, caring, professional and extremely compassionate to our needs in every aspect and step of the way throughout this tragic and difficult time especially with me being the only one living in Florida and the rest of my family in Massachusetts. I would highly recommend Sunset Point especially Andrew for anyone in need of a true compassionate experience during one of the worst and emotional times. thank you again Andrew for being kind and compassionate you are greatly appreciated for the work you do I cannot say thank you enough.

Amy Heckman
December 4, 2017

At a time that was very difficult for our family, Sunset Point Funeral Home was there for us. The entire staff was very professional and helped us with all of our needs. I feel like they went out of their way to save us money which is rare in the deathcare industry.

I wholeheartedly recommend Sunset Point Funeral Home and when the time comes, our family will use their services again.

JP Myrtle
December 1, 2017

My brother's passing was a very tragic and very difficult for my father and I.

I am very grateful that we were able to have Andrew help us out during the difficult time.

Andrew along with the staff at Sunset Point and Curlew Hills were extremely honest and professional ; they assisted us in remembering my brother.

Kyle Armstrong
December 1, 2017

I am so grateful that we found Andrew to walk us through one of the most painful weeks of our lives. My sister passed away very suddenly at a young age and so we were very unprepared to walk down this road. We met with several funeral homes and Andrew was the obvious choice as a funeral director. He was very calming and patient as we struggled through all the decisions that had to be made. We always felt like he had our best interest in mind regardless of how that might impact him.
He explained things very simply in a way that seemed honoring to my sister as well as our family. I especially appreciated that he always referred to her as a daughter or sister or by name. He is very real, compassionate, and professional. It felt like a friend was helping us through the whole process. I have never left a google review before, but I left wishing everyone could have someone like Andrew care for their family in this way. We had no idea where to begin and just started checking google reviews which is how we found Sunset Point. I hope we will help point the way for others who are grieving and needing the help of an excellent director.

Brian Lambert
November 6, 2017

Andrew thank you for your honesty.

Ken and Pat Naylor
August 23, 2017

Dear Mr. Winterkorn,
Starting final arrangements for a loved one long distance can include more than a little uncertainty. Your professionalism and clarity on the phone helped to allay that. The reassurance I felt when I met you confirmed I had made the right choice. Your integrity, consideration and respect in managing the final details for my son were very much appreciated. The facility is intimate and comfortable. Your suggestion to go to Safety Harbor Resort and Spa was perfect. Andrew, I am a woman of faith. I have to say that I feel my God used you to help comfort my family and to make my role much easier.
Thank you and God Bless you.
Pat Jordan

Pat Jordan
May 27, 2017

Our family is so grateful to you for all you did for us and for my mother. From the first time on the phone you were always kind, honest, knowledgeable, helpful and diligent. Everything went just as we had hoped and we know the coordination and planning took great effort. Sincerely, Joan and the family of Angela Casamo.

Joan Casamo
May 10, 2017

My sister passed away on Christmas Eve. As her sister I was trying to organize services on Christmas Day- which as one might know on Christmas is extremely difficult. My sister lived in Florida while the rest of us are from Boston, which just added another layer of difficulty.

Andrew immediately answered the phone and got all of my questions covered when I spoke with him on Christmas. He was very transparent about cost and there were no hidden expenses.

Andrew was very comforting to myself and my parents who were having a very tough time throughout this traumatic experience. He also was very clear in what needed to happen prior to the cremation process, and talked us through all of the steps.

Andrew helped us figure out the logistics of getting my sister back to Massachusetts, and he knew we were on a tight time frame. Andrew was very quick and always kept me updated on everything that was going on.

Thank you to Andrew and everyone at Sunset Point Funeral Home for an amazing job well done.

Jen Dorval
January 12, 2017

The personnel at Sunset Point Funeral Home are above and beyond superlatives in providing personal care and attention at a time of need. Andrew and Marilyn were caring, compassionate, and kind; guiding me thoughtfully through the process of saying goodbye to a loved one.

The final resting place was almost 2 hours from the funeral home, and was definitely out in the country. Because I was unfamiliar with the area, Marilyn drove to the cemetery on her day off to meet me, to ensure that I would find things perfectly in order. A sincere and heartfelt "Thank You" cannot begin to convey the gratitude for her dedication and concern.

Vincent Nico
December 12, 2016

With the passing of my father, I knew we would need to work with a funeral home including the purchase of a casket and funeral services. Admittedly, I went into this encounter with some preconceived ideas about the funeral industry and the high-pressure sales pitches to spend a lot of money when the customer is grief-stricken and in a position of vulnerability. For that reason, instead of sending my mom to do this on her own, my two brothers and I accompanied her.

What a pleasant surprise we were in for. Andrew was professional, not pushy in any way, and he truly listened. He did not steer us at all toward the most expensive options. He simply pointed out the pros and cons in the various decisions to be made. I felt like he would have done the exact same thing if it were his own mother he was dealing with. From that first meeting, to the funeral itself, to the graveside service, it's clear that Andrew knows exactly how to handle every situation so that the family bears no extra burdens during this difficult time. My mom and our whole family can happily recommend Andrew and the Sunset Point Funeral Home to anyone.

Scott Johnson
December 12, 2016

Andrew and his staff at Sunset Point Funeral Home did an amazing job assisting our family during this difficult time. From the time we contacted Andrew, through the memorial service, Andrew was truly caring about the family's loss, while making sure all of preparations and necessary documentation was handled in a timely and thorough manner. In addition, since we were on a tight budget, Andrew worked with the family to stay within our budget.
In a time of need, we highly recommend Andrew and his staff at Sunset Point Funeral Home.

Glynn Warwick
December 12, 2016

I’ve had the unfortunate experience of having 3 of my family members passed away in the last 4 years. I don’t post reviews very often, but I do want the public to know that working with Andrew has been a wonderful experience. I’ve contacted so many funeral homes in the Pinellas County area for quotes and whether or not they can accommodate us due to our religious preference. Andrew offers a very competitive pricing structure, but more importantly, he is truly a genuine person. True, he is suppose to be “nice” due to his profession, but I can say due to my experience with other funeral directors, or people in general, that this man is one of the nicest people I’ve ever met and will go over and beyond for you to make this whole process easier for you and those involved.

Anthony Quach
December 12, 2016

My Uncle, that my two children and I were taking care of, passed away after living with us for a year. The very next day, my 19 year old son was killed by a hit and run drunk driver, coming home from the movies. This has been the darkest time of my life, and the Funeral Director - Andrew Winterkorn - at Sunset Point Funeral Home was so wonderful. I found great comfort knowing that, in this end stage - after they both have left me, the earthly vessels of my son and uncle were cared for by someone who displayed such caring and respect. Andrew made this difficult time as easy as he possibly could for me, and the entire time I honestly felt as if I was his only patron. Now that everything is complete, I feel as if I have gained a close family member. Everyone who uses Sunset Point will experience this same warmness in a time when it is most needed - as he AND his staff are amazing.

Carolyn Ross
December 12, 2016

I recently lost a family member who lived in Clearwater, Florida. I live in New York and needed a funeral home who offered crematory services and care for a family bearing the loss of a loved one living over 1100 miles away. Our experience with Sunset Point Funeral Home could not have been better. Director Andrew Winterkorn treated us with the care of a good friend. I never felt like a customer at any point in the process. I give him and Sunset Point six stars.

Bill Gaskens
November 2, 2016

The Hough family recently used the services of Sunset Point Funeral Home for our Mom and were very pleased and appreciative of Andrew's professionalism, kindness, and understanding. Andrew made the process much less stressful.

D & J Dubois
October 11, 2016

I have referred three close friends to Sunset Point Funeral, one for prepaid services, one for funeral arrangements and the other for an urn. All of my friends report that they were treated with respect and pricing was within budget. Would recommend again...

Iggmaster2
December 9, 2015

The Sunset Point Funeral Home was truly a blessing for me and my family. During this most trying time in the loss of my husband Ronald Clarke. Mr. Daren Sternad and his Staff of Sunset Point Funeral Home perform an excellent job. Their kindness, personal involvement, professionalism and willingness to work with my special circumstances was awesome. I highly recommended Sunset Point Funeral Home to everyone. I know you will be very please and have nothing but pleasant memories. Thank you again for a job well done. ( Rosalind Clarke and Family)

Hameedoh Muhammad
December 3, 2015

My daughter was visiting family in Clearwater in August and suddenly passed away. We lived in Orlando and had no idea what we were going to do. I called several funeral homes needing help right away and every funeral home of course took advantage of our situation as far as the charges and could not accommodate our needs. I finally found Sunset Point Cremation and Funeral Services and spoke to Daren on Sunday August 30, 2015. We had no idea how we were going to begin to handle this I spoke to Daren and explained our situation. My oldest daughter, son-in-law and also best friend drove from Orlando to be there for me through this time and that I really needed to get things handled right away. Daren who actually was off and mowing his lawn took the time on his day off to come into the funeral home and guide me in what could be done. He made arrangements to pickup my daughter from the Medical Examiners office and brought her back to Sunset Point and prepared her so that the family could have a private viewing that afternoon. Daren held my hand and guided me with respect and care through the most difficult time in my families life. He was a God send and I cannot say enough about the services they provided without taking advantage at such a sad time. I will never forget what he did for me and my loved ones. God Bless you all at Sunset Point and I will be forever grateful. Pamela Heaney

Bakers Dozen
September 3, 2015

My brother and I recently used the services of Sunset Point Funeral Home after the death of our mother here in Clearwater. While I am local, my brother lives out of state, and the two of us stopped in while he was here visiting to speak with Ron Mees as we knew our mothers "time" was nearing. Ron was very helpful, professional and made the two of us feel very welcome! At no point was there any "pressure" of a sales pitch - which we HAD received just in making phone calls to other local facilities.
When our mom passed a very short time later, both Ron and Daren Sternad made the process as easy as possible from my first phone call to them. My entire family was treated with such compassion and care, it was quite a refreshing experience. One of the most amazing aspects of their service for myself, was the wonderful preparation that Daren delivered of my moms appearance for us for our viewing. He not only captured her true essence, but our last moments spent in our mothers presence we were able to view her having such beauty, dignity and grace....that was a true blessing for me.
I will HIGHLY recommend the services offered at Sunset Point to anyone in need during the death of a loved one.

Linda Wilkonson
July 26, 2015

Sunset Point Funeral Home was a life saver. My dad passed away March 12th and he ended up at a "BIG" funeral home in Clearwater. I called the "BIG" funeral home and they told me it would take two weeks to cremate him. I thought that was crazy, since we live in South Carolina and have never heard of anything like that. We started calling around and we got the same answer from several other funeral homes. Then we called Daren at Sunset Point at 6:21 P.M. on March 13th a Friday and he said he could get it done by Tuesday March 17th or Wednesday the 18th. Daren took a very complicated situation dealing with a VA doctor and the local state officials and he personally did all of the really difficult, next to impossible, leg work. Daren came through for us and got everything done by Wednesday March 18th, even with all the government offices being closed on Saturday and Sunday. We were able to come in from out town and have a funeral for my dad on Thursday the 19th of March. My whole family was all able to get the closer we needed in three days rather then three weeks the "BIG" funeral homes told us. We are so grateful for Daren simplifying such a complicated process for us during such a difficult time.

Amy Hansen
March 20, 2015

Your feedback

We are always interested in hearing from the families that we serve.  Please take a moment to let us know how well we served you in your time of need. We very much appreciate your feedback.

In this section

Testimonials

© 2018 Sunset Point Funeral Home. All Rights Reserved. Funeral Home website by CFS